Nutritious Memories

A slice of nutrition, food, photos, music, life and unforgettable memories

Walking into the New Year of 2012

Leave a comment

The New Year is a time, which opens a new chapter in our lives. It signifies the start of something new/preexisting, where people grab their pens, paper and their thoughts, (or should I  now say for some their (iphones, blackberries, androids, etc) and start writing their New Year’s Resolutions). The fact that you have a goal or a resolution, shows that there is something important that you want to see and accomplish this year.


Even in this exciting moment of thinking of “NYS” and goals, I always wonder why some New Year’s Resolutions seem to go down the drain. I’ll admit I have a lot of thoughts and suggestions, but I think you’ll have to invite me to your next News Years party to discuss about this. In this post I’ll only discuss only one aspect.

This is an obvious one (but one I always seem to be a victim of). Just writing some goals down was simply not enough for me to keeping on running towards my goal. I needed a genuine reason why this is was important to me, and most importantly what was I going to do to in order to achieve my goals. This made me understand that my words should correlate with my actions. For example one of my goals was to sit for the Australian Music Examinations Board AMEB  piano grade 2 examination (which consisted of scales, 4 music pieces, aural and sight-reading), and to try an achieve a distinction, as it was my first examination in AMEB music. All the lessons, organizing times for practice, learning curves as well as hard effort and patience (and I mean PATIENCE) were all small stepping stones which led me to successfully pass my examination with a distinction :). If I did not make time for all of this, then I wouldn’t really be making much progress, and I probably would not have crossed this out of my list of goals for the year.

I’ve previously mentioned that maybe just writing may not be enough for some people. But there is something powerful when you stop and seriously take the time to, reflect and ask yourself a series of questions. The goals journal from kikki k was just great for this (used it last and now this year). Here are some of the few questions it has when deciding on a goal.

  1. Define your goal and set an achievable and measurable date for completion.
  2. Why do I want to achieve this goal?
  3. What is holding me back? What obstacles am I facing?
  4. Record each step you need to take.
  5. Describe your reward. ( And More)

S – Specific
M – Measurable
A- Attainable
R- Relevant
T- Time

Mostly importantly I wanted to walk into 2012, with a new mindset and change the way I how perceive situations, experiences and life.

Taking a peek inside the goals journal

I think exposure plays an essential role in our lives. Exposure challenges old thinking,  it changes the way how we see things, and open doors that you may not be familiar. Having the opportunity to exposure yourself by meeting new people, trying a new habit, etc may be what changes you as a person.

walking into an avenue full of leaves at melbourne uni

I needed a new mind over old issues, as my old way of thinking was not helping me out to tackle some problems and goals. If that was the case, then I thought to myself “I’ll never be able to overcome/ achieve them if I can’t think about the situation differently”.

I see lots of great things in the year of 2012 such as starting my Honours in Food science and Nutrition. This will be great year of divine transformation, processing, meeting new people and places and developing more hidden talents that I never knew existed in me. I hope you also feel the same way as well. What do you see in the year of 2012? do you see it as another year rolling by? I am hoping that this will be a year for you where all your resolutions become into reality.

Stay focused, work hard, look back at your resolutions, find people with similar resolutions, and I know you will surely achieve your goals for 2012.

Have a great year and remember something good for me.

Leave a comment